Member Login Not a Member?
LOCSU opticians hero image

Committee Membership

The committee must have a minimum of six elected members and should ideally be made up of equal numbers of local contractors (or their nominated representatives) and performers. Up to three members may be co-opted to achieve the exact balance between local contractors and performers. The Model Constitution recommends that at least one local dispensing optician who is not a contractor is properly included in their membership.

Term of Office

The term of office of the members of the Committee is three years. On the expiry of their term of office, a member is eligible for re-election.

A Chair, Treasurer and Secretary (where a lay secretary has not been appointed) shall be elected by the committee at the first meeting following the Annual General Meeting. They shall serve for one year and be eligible for re-election. A Vice-Chairman may also be elected on the same terms.